1 Comment

GANDALF GETS ON THE TRAIN

Dearest Megatron,

Allow Gandalf to give you a play-by-play of her week.

  • Monday: Fantastic. Had practice with my childrens. There’s only 2 weeks and 4 practices left until states. I can’t believe how fast this season has gone! I sold a sign on Etsy. I’m always amazed at how many of those things I sell.
  • Tuesday: I dropped my Droid in the toilet and fished it out. My hubby is a plumber, he says most people flush. Now tell me, why the heck would you try to flush your cell down the toilet? That’s just crazy! Thank goodness I have insurance. $100 later, I have a new Droid.
  • Wednesday: Nothing exciting happened except my new phone came.
  • Thursday: Went to guard practice, only to be told that practice is cancelled due to parent teacher conferences. Wouldn’t been nice to know ahead of time, eh? Oh, but we called you and left a voicemail on Tuesday. Awesome!! My phone was swimming with the fishes…er, turds. (Haha just kidding. I hadn’t actuallyused the toilet when it fell in thank goodness. That’d just be sick.)
  • Friday aka TODAY: Got an email from someone I haven’t heard from in a while. She’s a friend of my sisters and a writer. Sometime ago she read my manuscript Stepping Stones and encouraged me to publish it. Well, we all know Gandalf and how terrified she is of everything publishing related. Of course I ignored her advice and did nothing with Stepping Stones, unless you count how I convinced myself it sucked and wasn’t worthy of anyone’s eyes. So she asks me if I’ve published it yet because she knows a publisher that might be interested. Oh, and btw, she’s an editor for said company. (Pan to Gandalf, doing happy dance.) This is the part that has me all fired up: She’s already read my manuscript and she STILL wants me to submit it. So maybe (just maybe) it doesn’t suck as much as I think? Maybe I just have that artist brain that hates everything I create? Maybe I’m just crazy? (Okay, not maybe. We all know I’ve gone off the deep end.)

So A B and C have led Gandalf to the decision to submit to this publishing company. Drum roll please–it’s an e-pub company. I know, I know. Everyone is so THRILLED I’ve finally gotten with the times. But! Wait! They also offer legacy publishing too, in addition to the e-pubbing. And you aren’t contractually obligated to stick with them for subsequent books if you don’t wanna.

Gandalf is excited.

So now I’m off to edit and panic, though apparently no panicking is necessary. I mean, does she KNOW me? I’m terrified, but I’m gonna get through this. Oh man…now that song is stuck in my head.

GANDALF OUT

One comment on “GANDALF GETS ON THE TRAIN

  1. Love this for you! Go girl!! Dream big!

Leave a Reply

