1 Comment

GANDALF TALKS BOOKS

Your Darkness,

Perhaps I am stepping out of line by responding before you’ve replied, but there are certain things I just can’t keep to myself.  I have finished the first Curse Workers book, White Cat by Holly Black. There are so many good things that I don’t know where to begin. BEFORE I read the book I was in love with it for the sole fact that she thanks CASSANDRA CLARE in her acknowledgments. Clearly, if Cassandra Clare was involved in any way, I’m destined to love the book. (She also thanks Scott Westerfeld–I mean, can we maybe have a circle of friends like this?)

Following, in no particular order, are the other things I loved about this book.

1. It’s in first person. And not just any first person, it’s first person present-tense. Whoa? Right? It’s awesome. It grabbed me by the face and sucked me right into it.

2. It’s first person present and narrated by a boy. Yes! (So less whiny than a girl).

3. For a good portion of this book, I had no idea what was going on. You figure it all out as he does. It’s so nice to not predict every twist and turn.

4. It’s deliciously dark and strange, enough said.

It’s possible that there’s more that I loved, but this is a pretty good list. I will be reading the rest of this series. Thanks for suggesting it!

Forever in your debt,

Gandalf the Grey

One comment on “GANDALF TALKS BOOKS

  1. Why Gandalf! What a shock to find we have posted at nearly the same time!

Leave a Reply

